Recommended HJ/MJ books?

Discussion about the New Testament, apocrypha, gnostics, church fathers, Christian origins, historical Jesus or otherwise, etc.
Ben C. Smith

Recommended HJ/MJ books?

Post by Ben C. Smith »

I am setting aside some money next month to buy books, with an emphasis on books with lots of information that will serve as good reference guides. (I am also majoring on books that I cannot obtain from my local Interlibrary Loan program; however, there is no way any of you will know which books are or are not available to me locally, so never mind that.) My other main criterion is: books that best represent the current state of the HJ/MJ debate on a scholarly level and in various aspects (even if indirect, such as dealing with the Marcionite texts); however, I listed my information criterion first because I do not want books that are principally summaries of current arguments; rather, I want the current arguments themselves, with all the data presented.

My list so far includes, in no particular order:
  • Richard Carrier, On the Historicity of Jesus.
  • Jason BeDuhn, The First New Testament: Marcion's Scriptural Canon.
  • Robert M. Price, The Pre-Nicene New Testament: Fifty-four Formative Texts.
  • Gerd Theissen and Annette Merz, The Historical Jesus: A Comprehensive Guide.
(I am not at all interested, by the way, in D. M. Murdock, Freke & Gandy, and the like.)

What other books are there which pertain to the HJ/MJ debate and offer loads of information? Any suggestions?

Ben.
ΤΙ ΕΣΤΙΝ ΑΛΗΘΕΙΑ
Secret Alias

Re: Recommended HJ/MJ books?

Post by Secret Alias »